National Park Service Units in Massachusetts

Contrary to some signs you may see along state roads, there are not any National Parks in Massachusetts. There are, however, 16 different MA locations that are under the jurisdiction of the National Park Service – they represent a variety of “unit designations” ranging from historical sites to recreation areas to a National Seashore. In this edition of our “See America” series, our guide Steve Farrar will take us on a tour of local places that can give us a taste of the National Park Service right here in our own backyard (or at least within distance of a day trip).

NPS Units in Massachusetts:

1. Appalachian National Scenic Trail
2. Springfield Armory National Historic Site
3. Lowell National Historic Park
4. Salem Maritime National Historic Site
5. Saugus Iron Works National Historic Site
6. Minute Man National Historic Park
7. Boston NHP (a.k.a. The Freedom Trail)
8. Boston African American National Historic Site
9. Boston Harbor Islands National Recreation Area
10. Longfellow House National Historic Site
11. JFK’s Birthplace National Historic Site
12. Frederick Law Olmstead National Historic Site
13. Adams National Historic Park
14. New Bedford Whaling National Historic Park
15. Blackstone River Valley National Historic Park
16. Cape Cod National Seashore